Bear Cubs

Bear Cub Scout

The Bear Cub Scout program is for boys who have completed second grade (or are age 9). After earning the Bobcat badge, a boy may earn the Bear badge by completing 12 achievements in four different categories: God, Country, Family, and Self.

Bear Cub Scouts can complete Bear Electives and Belt Loops and Pins at any time. The Bear Cub Scout uniform has six parts.

Bear Cub Scout Requirements

After completing the Bobcat Trail, each Bear Cub Scout works toward his Bear Badge by completing twelve (12) achievements in the following areas:

- God
- Country
- Family
- Self

For each three (3) achievements completed, a Bear Cub earns a red Progress Toward Ranks bead.

When the Bear Cub completes all twelve (12) achievements, he has earned his Bear Badge, a patch worn on the left shirt pocket.

After earning his Bear Badge, the Bear Cub Scout can also earn Arrow Points (patches) by completing electives (10 elective project per Arrow Point).

The Academics and Sports Program is optionally available to the Bear Cub.

The Parvuli Dei Religious Emblem is also available to Catholic Bear Cub Scouts.

Bob Reis is leading this effort and can be reached at for more information about the Light of Christ Achievement.